My top London day out with Brentford FC

8.44pm, Saturday 19th March, Euston Road, Central London, England, United Kingdom

Evening folks, I’ve just boiled the jug to make a miso soup to go with my ham and cheese sandwich – I’m having a two course dinner in my hotel room! It’s been a very big old school London day out, and this little black duck is staying in and getting an early night. I’m a big fan of a top old London football team – Brentford FC – for a number of reasons…..their colours are red white and black ( same as my rubbish AFL side at home ), they’re founded 1889 so have a great history, and their home ground Griffin Park is the only pitch in the UK with a pub at each of the four corners! Whenever I’m scheduled to do events in London, the first thing I do is check what’s on at the West End theatres…….and whether Brentford is playing at home. Lucky for me this trip they hosted Blackburn Rovers at Griffin Park…..unfortunately they went down 1-0….but it was great to make the pilgrimage, and I got to have a chat to my favourite player – David Button the goalkeeper – after the game. So here’s nearly the best London day out that I could have….

  
Have to get to get to the ground early and get your ticket. That’s Blackburn Rovers arriving at Griffin Park.

  
Got the ticket – next stop the beer garden of The Griffin for lunch straight off the BBQ.

  
I’m on the Home terrace today…..early enough to see the two goalkeepers going through their warmup.

  
Buzzette the mascot does a lap of Griffin Park, so it won’t be long before the Brentford Bees take the field

  
We lost 1-0 to Blackburn Rovers and will have to work hard over the last games of the season to stay up in The Championship ….but I did meet my favourite player, goalkeeper David Button, so this is going up on my ‘Wall of Fame’ when I get back to the Winery

  
See ya when it’s Sunday, and we’re off to see the top folks at Bread Street Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

