“Put on my blue suede shoes……and I ….boarded the plane…..”

8.51pm, Friday 3rd April, 2979 Millbranch Road, Memphis, TN, USA

Evening folks, and I spent a lot of the day trekking across the U.S. at 33000feet – finally arriving in Memphis, this being  my fourth pilgrimage to the town who’s fortunes were tangled up with the Mississippi River trade and shipping cotton, site of the National Civil Rights Museum in the Lorraine Motel where Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated, and the home of Elvis Presley for most of his adult life. This is just the jumping off spot though – the road trip is all about criss crossing the top third of Mississippi – ‘the delta’ – and the Juke Joint Festival next week in Clarksdale. So welcome to Memphis roadtrippers….early night tonight because it’s going to be a big week!

  

  

So much to see…..but this trip it’s just the Stax Soul Label Museum, then off to Corinth, Mississippi. I’ve done Graceland three times, so I’m not letting the international fraternity of Elvis fans down, and I’ll be in his home town Tupelo in a couple of days – watch this space for an Elvispotting moment I’ve got planned!

Had to have dinner though, so I chose Gus’s World Famous Chicken downtown on South Front Street

  

Top first stop! Lovely folks, and all I’m going to say is that when they say their fried chicken is spicy, they mean it! Now that I’ve eaten at Gus’s, I’m of the opinion that you can never have too much snap, chickeny crackle and zingy spice pop in your fried chicken ! And to my mates in Texas, I even ordered a whole jalapeño, sliced it up and laced the bbq baked beans – aren’t you proud of me…..waving the flag for the lone star State’s favourite vegetable!

  

  

Memphis….it’s an “All King” kind of town……the King of Rock’n’roll that is! Sun never sets on a legend roadtrippers…see ya when it’s Mississippi

Leave a Reply

