Hi Barossa Valley – I’m home

9.12am, Wednesday 23rd November, Yalumba Clocktower, Angaston, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Morning, folks, and it’s nice to be back in Angaston, and all the good things – like the Clocktower at Yalumba – are still where they were when I left. And it was nice to get back into my trusty ute ‘Big White’ and trundle down the main street yesterday – parked right in front of wherever I needed to go – and spared a big thought for the super stressed London commuters who never get to do that! So this morning I’ve caught up with where I need to be for the next three days, and will be off shortly to fill up the ute with diesel and head south for Naracoorte – right on the doorstep of the Wrattonbully winegrowing region. The big race day is on down there tomorrow, and I’m doing a talk for our man who runs our vineyards in Coonawarra and Wrattonbully – James Freckleton – at the industry seminar being run beforehand.

What are we going to do? We’re going to talk about what I do out and about on the road – it’s called “Opportunity in a difficult climate”. Excellent timing, as I have literally stacks of hard work but good news examples from my recent trip away.

Then on the way back up to the Barossa, we have a wine lunch on Friday at The Avoca Hotel in Adelaide for our gal around the traps, Therese Stolle, who used to be our gal in London inside the M25. This should be a lot of fun with 70 people already registered and lots of good material from the trip just ready to roll. What an excellent way to kick off the Avoca’s Festive Season.

So I’ll see ya when we’re at the races – I have the suit dry cleaned and two new pairs of stockings, so watch out gals – I may even have a crack at “Fashion on the Field”! Stranger things have happened.

One response to “Hi Barossa Valley – I’m home

  1. Steve in the Wine room

    My tip for the Races: Race 7 number 3, and watch out for those dead gum trees that have been concreted into the ground on the dukes highway near Keith…long story will update when you are back!

Leave a Reply

