Why I Live Where I Live …

20110902-021847.jpg

3.47pm, Friday 2nd September Yalumba Clocktower, Eden Valley Road, Angaston, The Barossa

I’ve been out and about the Barossa today folks, soaking up a great day’s sunshine as I get a stack of chores done, reminded the whole time why I actually love living where I live – in The Barossa. We have David the chef and Dianne the events and PR manager for the Port Lincoln Hotel coming to visit for the first time next week, and they’re very keen to see on the ground this “unique Barossa wine & food culture” that we keep talking about. So today I’ve been lining up ‘field trip’ visits for David & Di – like to the smokehouse at Angaston’s own Schulz’s Butchers, and to the Fechner Family’s Apex Bakery – complete with 85-year-old wood fired oven – in Tanunda.

The best way to do this is in person, so picture this – driving around the Valley in the Hilux with the windows down, avoiding the first of this season’s lizards sun baking on the road, 90.5 fm Barossa Hot Country on the radio, a half pint of chilled Farmers Union iced coffee sitting in the console, and working my way through an Apex Bakery pastie – with sauce – out of a paper bag! How lucky am I to live where I live!

Leave a Reply

