Back Home for Budburst

12.11pm, The Clocktower, Yalumba, Angaston, Eden Valley, South Australia
Well troops, I’m back on the home deck, in one piece, and it’s right on budburst. The longest shoots out there on the Barossa floor – always the first to go – would be about 8 – 10cm (4 to 5 inches) long. The nights are still chilly cold, clear as crystal up in Angaston last night, with fog blanketing the lowlands. But out there today is just magic springtime stuff with a blindingly blue sky on top of it all. With the amount of lush grasses around and the rate everything is blossoming – I predict a major hayfever season this year! Even the two old weeping figs in front of the tasting cellar – must be at least 100 years old – are already in full leaf.

So it’s nice to be home, and with any luck in a couple of days I’ll be back into the local time frame and I can whiz around the winery and catch you up on where everyone’s at.

Before that though, stand by as I catch up that Northern Roadtrip leftover from the UK.

5 responses to “Back Home for Budburst

  1. Jane – it was great to meet you and I’m still smarting over not getting to eat ribs with you.

    Home cooked goodness chez Val’n’Chris next time – I promise!

    I hope the Pikesville is keeping the chill off.

    Chris.

  2. Thanks Chris – the Pikesville made the trip home in the big blue suitcase in one piece, and is sitting in the pantry waiting for the right event – then the top will be knocked off! And yes – Bodeans for Ribs is on the agenda next trip!! Keep the faith till then and good luck with the new place.

  3. Hi Jane,
    Sorry to hear about the knee – I’m sure it wont keep you down for long! Hope to see you in the New Year. Johnny Mac.

  4. Thanks Johnny – sorry we’ve had to postpone November’s event, but we’ll defintely open your academic year February 2011 with a bang!! I’m keen to get to the surgeon in a couple weeks time, as I’m getting very cranky stuck on crutches!! Thanks for hanging in with us though, look after Melbourne for me, and I’ll see ya in the New year.

    • Thanks Johnny – sorry we’ve had to popostne November’s event, but we’ll defintely open your academic year February 2011 with a bang!! I’m keen to get to the surgeon in a couple weeks time, as I’m getting very cranky stuck on crutches!! Thanks for hanging in with us though, look after Melbourne for me, and I’ll see ya in the New year.

Leave a Reply

