Thank You to the Boys at HMAS Cairns

HMAS Childers

5.32pm, Friday 18th June, Gate 27, Cairns Airport, FNQ, Australia
I’ve just got back to Cairns from our trade and consumer lunch in Port Douglas – one of the best jobs on our annual calendar – with the crew at Cafe Salsa. What a magic operation they have up there, rain, monsoon or shine. I’ll give you the course by  course description tonight when I’m on my own computer. Yesterday was our trade and consumer events in Cairns, and I’m just waiting for the plane ride back to Townsville, as we finish our Far North Queensland section of the tour there  tomorrow with a consumer lunch for 70 people at A Touch Of Salt.

Before I leave Cairns though, I have a massive ‘thank you’ to go out to the boys at HMAS Cairns, the naval base up here, which is home to four of the Armidale class patrol boats – yep the same as my ‘Sea Patrol’ favourite – the fictitious ‘Hammersley’. The boys who look after Yalumba up here in FNQ – Benny and Damien – heard that I was a big fan of the show, and they arranged for me to have a tour of the base early this morning. As luck would have it, we were able to have a look at one of the patrol boats –  HMAS Childers  – which happens to be at home right now. I was a bit like a kid in a lolly shop – but trying to remain really cool – as we were shown around, as it was literally like being on the show – only for real! What a great treat!  Didn’t I just say a couple of days ago how much I like my job? It just doesn’t get much better than this. See ya when I’m back in Townsville and I’ll fill you in on the Cafe Salsa lunch – out there on its own in a good way!

One response to “Thank You to the Boys at HMAS Cairns

  1. Watching from Canberra, with family in Queensland. Trying to think of a way to help wihtout getting in the way. I lived in Cairns a few years ago. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Siddean. May you and yours be well and safe. And get back soon to happily creating more wonderful shoes for us.

Leave a Reply

