That ‘Sea Patrol’ Theme Pops Up Again

8.27am, Thursday 17th June, Townsville Marina, FNQ, Australia

HMAS Townsville (centre) and Magnetic Island (background)

Still on the water, on the Townsville marina, my room looks straight out to sea and the massive  Magnetic Island just offshore. I noticed what looked like an old Fremantle class patrol boat tied up just below where I’m staying, and I asked about it at the Maritime Museam just down the road. Sure enough, it’s the de-commissioned HMAS Townsville. See – the ‘Sea Patrol’ quest continues! I’m being picked up in half an hour and we’re off to work up in Cairns today – and that’s where they film a lot of the show, seeing as four of the new Armidale class patrol boats are based there.  So again – the job takes me to neat spots – this time the  filming locations for one of my favourite shows!! See ya when we’re up there, and I’ll let you know how we went last night at Watermark, on Horseshoe Bay in Townsville.

Leave a Reply

